Monday, October 5, 2015

Tobacco Road Juried into Judged Show-International Quilt Festival 2015

Connie Marie Fahrion's quilt, Tobacco Road (Fig. 1 and 2), can be seen at International Quilt Festival 2015, in Houston, Tx., October 28 - November 1, 2015.  The quilt was inspired by the book, Tobacco Road by Erskine Caldwell, although the quilt tells its own open-ended story and bears no resemblance to the actual book.  To read more about its creation, go to

                                Tobacco Road                  21" x 53"                                  Fig. 1

 Close Up                                                        Fig. 2

Monday, July 20, 2015

Peas 'n Honey accepted by Dinner at Eight Artists

Linda Teddlie Minton's "Peas 'n Honey" (40" x 40") was accepted into the juried invitational exhibit, "Affinity" hosted by Jamie Fingal's and Leslie Tucker Jenison's Dinner at Eight Artists, for the 2015 International Quilt Festival.  The quilt demonstrates Linda's "Affinity" for humor in art, as reflected in a favorite old poem, "I eats my peas with honey, I've done it all my life. It makes the peas taste funny, but it keeps 'em on my knife."

Peas 'n Honey
Peas 'n Honey, detail

Susan King to have two quilts in 2015 International Quilt Festival

Susan Fletcher King will have two quilts showing at the International Quilt Festival in 2015. The first is "Jacob's Treasures, a 40" x 40" quilt which will be displayed in the special "Affinity" exitibit. This is an invitational juried show co-curated by Leslie Tucker Jenison and Jamie Fingal.

Jacob's Treasures
The second quilt is "The Parable of the Dragon and the Sheep", measuring 24" x 60". This will be appearing as a finalist in the juried IQA show, "A World of Beauty."

The Parable of the Dragon and the Sheep

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Tactile Architecture 2015

Mary Ann Littlejohn's :"Agreememt House" has been juried into Tactile Architecture at International Quilt Fesival, Houston, TX, November 4-8.  It will continue to travel to other venues until August 2016.